AIS banner


A panel comprising representatives from the media (print, web, television and radio), sport and the Australian Sports Commission will judge the entries.

With the exception of the Lifetime achievement award for contribution to sports journalism, four finalists will be selected in each category. The winners will be announced at the Australian Sports Commission Media Awards presentation gala dinner on Thursday 16 February 2017, and published on the media awards website on Friday 17 February 2017.

The judges will make their decisions based solely on the material provided by entrants. Entrants should not expect feedback from the judging panel about their entry.

Many factors are taken into account, such as (in no specific order):

  • use of medium
  • news value
  • research
  • writing and/or editing
  • technical excellence
  • incisiveness
  • impact
  • public benefit
  • ethics
  • originality
  • creative flair.

Follow us

follow us on facebook follow us on youtube follow us on twitter follow us on instagram

Did you know?

Australia's most successful Olympic event is the Men's 1500m Freestyle.

Quick numbers

233 thousand people have so far completed the ASC online coaching course.
35 thousand kilometres were swum by Petria Thomas while at the AIS.
38 thousand people have so far completed the ASC online officiating course.
0.5 million people visit the AIS each year.